Launch of the Union Bancaire Francophone

Jun 25, 2013

The Union Bancaire Francophone (a union of French-speaking countries' banking associations ) was officially launched on June 14th by 20 associations and federations of banking associations, with the support of the International Organisation of Francophonie.

Its goal is to create a network for the sharing of information on key topics of interest to the banking communities in Francophone countries, on the basis of a light and participatory structure.

In particular, the association aims to promote the exchange of expertise, knowledge and experiences, the sharing of best practices and pooling of members' efforts, particularly in the preparation of certain national or international events.

The signatories include banking associations from 16 countries and the Union of Arab Banks, the Union of Maghreb Banks, and the federations of banking associations of WAEMU (West African Economic and Monetary Union) and CEMAC (Central African Economic and Monetary Community).

The 16 countries who signed directly are Algeria, Belgium, Benin, Cameroon, Canada, Ivory Coast, France, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Morocco, Mauritius, Mauritania, Monaco, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Switzerland and Tunisia.

Other participating countries, through federations of banking associations, are Burkina Faso, Guinea Bissau, Mali, Niger, Senegal and Togo (WAEMU) and Gabon, Equatorial Guinea, Central African Republic, and Chad (CEMAC).ADNFCR-2976-ID-801603638-ADNFCR