ECOWAS Financial Sector Policy Dialogue

Sep 27, 2018 - Sep 28, 2018 | Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire

Accelerating Financial Sector Development in ECOWAS Region

Date: 27-28 September, 2018

Location: Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire

MFW4A and AfDB will convene with governmental authorities of the region, in addition to donors, multilateral and regional financial institutions, and private sector representatives for a dialogue on accelerating the financial sector development in the ECOWAS region in Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire from 27 to 28 September 2018.. The objective of the ECOWAS financial sector policy dialogue is to:

  • Take stock of the current state of current reforms in the West African regional financial sector;
  • Identify priority areas and actions, including innovative financial instruments, where Development Finance Institutions (DFIs) can reinforce their contribution to financing the real economy;
  • Adopt a common roadmap for new initiatives in favour of the financial sector development; and
  • Promote the inclusion of these initiatives in the strategies of the AfDB and regional and international development institutions.

ECOWAS is a regional organization of fifteen West African countries (Benin, Burkina-Faso, Cape Verde, Côte d'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo), with a common set of institutions working towards greater economic, financial and monetary integration in the region.

A few decades ago, West African policymakers have collectively undertaken efforts and initiatives for the success of the economic and financial integration processes with the establishment of ECOWAS; however, it is worth noting the persistence of some disparities in terms of economic performance, financial depth and integration levels in the West African region.

This dialogue will provide an ideal opportunity for assessing the state of play and the progress made by the two regional sub-groups in support of the ECOWAS financial integration.

Size disparities relating to these economies and their financial sectors will be taken into account in order to better capitalize on the potential for financial integration between, on the one hand, WAEMU countries and the other countries in the region; and on the other hand, economic leaders (Nigeria - Ghana - Côte d'Ivoire - Senegal) and the other members of ECOWAS, including the fragile states.

Download the AGENDA.