African Partners Directory

Welcome to the African Partners Directory. Search for specific Stakeholders or browse the Thematics-List.


Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS)

est. 18 October 1983


The ECCAS was established on 18 October 1983 by The Central African Customs and Economic Union (UDEAC) members (Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Equatorial Guinea and Gabon), the members of the Economic Community of the Great Lakes States (Burundi, Rwanda and the then Zaire) as well as Sao Tome and Principe.

ECCAS began functioning in 1985, but was inactive from 1992-1998 because of financial difficulties (non-payment of membership fees) and the conflict in the Great Lakes area.


ECCAS aims to achieve collective autonomy, raise the standard of living of its populations and maintain economic stability through harmonious cooperation. Its ultimate goal is to establish a Central African Common Market. The four main priorities of the ECCAS are:

  • To develop capacity to maintain peace, security and stability - as essential prerequisites for economic and social development
  • To develop physical, economic and monetary integration
  • To develop a culture of human integration
  • To establish an autonomous financing mechanism for ECCAS