African Partners Directory

Welcome to the African Partners Directory. Search for specific Stakeholders or browse the Thematics-List.


East African Community (EAC)

est. First established 1967, re-established- July 7th 2000


The East African Community (EAC) was originally founded in 1967, collapsed in 1977, and was officially revived on July 7, 2000. In 2008, after negotiations with the Southern Africa Development Community (SADC) and the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), the EAC agreed to an expanded free trade area.

In 2010, the EAC launched its own common market for goods, labour and capital within the region, with the goal of a common currency by 2012 and full political federation in 2015.


The EAC aims to:

  • Widen and deepen co-operation among the Partner States in political, economic and social fields for their mutual benefit
  • Establish a Customs Union as the entry point of the Community
  • Establish a Common Market
  • Establish a Monetary Union
  • Establish a Political Federation of the East African States