African Partners Directory

Welcome to the African Partners Directory. Search for specific Stakeholders or browse the Thematics-List.


Arab Maghreb Union (AMU)

est. February 17, 1989


The Treaty establishing the Arab Maghreb Union (AMU) was signed by the Heads of State of Algeria, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, and Tunisia, On February 17, 1989 in Marrakech.

Since 1990, the five countries have signed more than 30 Multilateral Agreements covering diverse economic, social, and cultural areas. However, only five of these agreements have been endorsed by all members. These include agreements on Trade and Tariffs (covering all industrial products), Trade in Agricultural Products, Investment Guarantees, avoidance of double taxation, and phyto-sanitary standards.

The AMU is currently dormant, while the Community for Sahel-Saharan states (COMESA or CEN-SAD) has become a role player in the North African region. 


The main objectives of the AMU Treaty are:

  • To strengthen all forms of ties among Member States (in order to ensure regional stability and enhance policy coordination), as well as to introduce gradually free circulation of goods, services, and factors of production among them
  • Common defense and non-interference in the domestic affairs of the partners are also key aspects of the Treaty
  • To promote the development of agriculture, industry, commerce, food security, and the setting up of joint projects and general economic cooperation programs